What happens when you try to issue and item that is already checked out?

What happens when you try to issue and item that is already checked out?

Koha has two options for issuing items that are already checked out to a different patron account. These options are controlled by the AutoReturnCheckedOutItems system preference. This document will outline how to locate and edit the system preference and provide examples of checking out items under the different parameters.

Locating the AutoReturnCheckedOutItems system preference

Go to Koha administration > Global System Preferences and search for AutoReturnCheckedOutItems. This will bring you to a system preference of the same name.


Do require librarians to manually confirm a checkout where the item is already checked out to another patron

This setting will require staff members to override a warning at check out if the item is already on another account in order to complete the issue.

Don’t require librarians to manually confirm a checkout where the item is already checked out to another patron

This setting will allow the item to be issued without staff needing to override anything, but a notice will appear after the checkout informing staff that the item was on a different patron account and was checked in before being checked out to the new account.

Once you have decided on the appropriate setting for your site, click Save all Circulation preferences.


Demonstration of checkouts completed for both settings.

Check out when system preference is set to require manual confirmation

The patron account in the image below has an item checked out.

If this item is checked out to another patron, the following warning appears:

Yes, check out

Clicking this option will automatically check the item in off the Charles Quain account and check it out to the Daphne Quain account.

No, don't check out

Clicking this option will not check the item out to Daphne Quain and the item will remain on the Charles Quain account

Cancel checkout and place a hold for Daphne Quain

Clicking this option will leave the item on the Charles Quain account but will place a hold for Daphne Quain so that when the patron returns the item it will be held for Daphne Quain.

Checkout when the system preference is set to not require staff override

The patron account in the image below has an item checked out:

The item checked out to Charles Quain has been scanned into the checkout box on another account and been successfully checked out. After the completed checkout a note appears in the yellow box, informing the staff member of the patron the item was checked out to previously.

VersionDateDetailAuthor
1.016/10/25Document createdHolly Cooper
1.217/16/25Adding detailsHolly Cooper